Gender barrier shattered in Tug-of-War game body elections

31-01-2013, Kohlapur,Maharashtra

Gender barrier shattered in Tug-of-War game body elections


Kolhapur, 31st Jan: the Tug of War Federation of India(TWFI) today created game history by electing its next Secretary General, a senior woman official opening thus the doors for more participation for the women in game administration in the country.

TWFI held its elections for the new national executive committee of its federation here for a new term of four years 2013-17.

General body elected Mr. Hari Shanker Gupta of Delhi state as its new incoming president. The elected office bearers are Mrs. Madhavi Patil Chaterpatishivaji Awardee (Maharashtra) as Secretary General, Mr. J.E Gupile Maharashtra as Treasurer. Mr. O Khetrajit (Manipur), M.Sundaram Murthy (Pondicherry) and Shri. Arjan Singh U.P as Vice- Presidents and Shri N.S. Mundi (Punjab), Shri Ranjit De (Tiripura)and Shri Dara Singh(Rajasthan) as Joint Secretaries.

There was contest only for two posts of the President and of the Treasurer. All other posts were filled uncontested.